Fw: Ham Radio Operators Dial In Explorer 1 Celebration


steve <wb5lop@...>
 

Excerpt From:







DC Agle 818-393-9011
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
agle@jpl.nasa.gov

NEWS RELEASE: 2008-008

Jan. 17, 2008





Monday, Jan. 28 to Sunday, Feb. 3
Ham Radio Operators Dial In Explorer 1 Celebration

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of Explorer 1, the JPL Amateur Radio Club will be on the air from 8 a.m. PST on Monday Jan. 28, through 8 p.m. PST on Sunday Feb. 3. A commemorative Explorer 1 QSL card is available to those ham operators who make contact with the station. For further information see JPL's Explorer 1 Events page at: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/explorer/media/ :



Hams Invited To Dial In Explorer 1 Celebration



Explorer I marked the dawn of the Space Age for the United States as well as the beginning of the Jet Propulsion Lab's exploration of space. To celebrate the 50th anniversary of this momentous event the JPL Amateur Radio Club will be operating station W6VIO from 8 a.m. PST (1600 UTC) on Monday, January 28th, thru 8 p.m. PST on Sunday Feb. 3 (0400 UTC February 4th) using the following frequencies: 3535, 7035, 7185, 14035, 14240, 21035, 21285.

For each confirmed conversation JPL Amateur Radio Club plans to make available a commemorative Explorer 1 QSL card (postcard that serves as a confirmation of communication).


For more information about JPL's Explorer 1 mission on the Internet, visit

www.jpl.nasa.gov/explorer. The site includes a history on the mission as well as links to archival images and video, and animations.

Join main@saradioclub.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.